Enjoy Brahms and Grieg thanks to the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

THE HEXAGON’S ‘house band’ is back in action on Saturday night, opening a new season of Classical Music Alive.

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra has a residency in Reading, performing a mixture of music suitable for all tastes.

And this weekend’s concert showcases that depth and breadth in one evening.

Opening the concert will be Brahms’ expressive Tragic Overture with triumphant brass and heroic strings.

The centrepiece of this concert is Grieg’s Piano Concerto, performed by Andrew Zolinsky. Organisers said that the piece has driving, rousing outer movements and a touch of joie de vivre in the middle, making it one of the greatest piano concertos of all time.

Andrew is described by the Royal College of Music as “one of the most distinctive musical voices of his generation” is noted for bringing a vivid freshness, energy and passion to his performances and this concert will be no exception.

In contrast to the lyrical melodies of Grieg’s masterpiece, Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony is grand and majestic, with the orchestra out in full force for this concert’s finisher.

The orchestra will be conducted by Victor Aviat.

The concert starts at 7.30pm on Saturday. Tickets cost from £17 to £28. For more details or to book call 0118 960 6060 or log on to www.Readingarts.com

Phil Creighton

Editor of The Wokingham Paper, and has worked in local journalism for more than 20 years including the Wokingham Times, Bracknell Standard and Reading Evening Post. He's also written for computer magazines, The Baptist Times and, to his delight and probably not yours, interviewed several Doctor Whos.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button