The Wokingham Paper

EURO ELECTIONS: Counting begins for Wokingham

EU elections
Counting in the 2019 European Elections at Loddon Valley Leisure Centre

AS MANY European countries go to the polls today, counting is now going on in Lower Earley to find out how Wokingham borough voted.

The verification of the ballot papers started at Loddon Valley Leisure Centre late this morning, and it is expected that the result for the borough will be announced shortly after 10pm.

The figures will then be sent to the South East regional centre in Southampton, where they will be added to the local totals.

The European Parliament elections are unusual in England as they are the only ones that use a form of proportional representation, known as the D’Hondt system.

It sees seats allocated according to shares of the vote, but also a series of rounds take place.

In the first round, the party with the most votes wins a seat. In the second round, this winning party sees its vote divided into two, and the next top party takes the next seat. This process is then repeated until each seat has been allocated.

The South East has a total of 10 MEPs.

Each party has ranked its candidates in the order in which they will be elected.

These are the candidates for each of the parties (parties in alphabetical order, counting The as the first word):

Change UK

  1. Richard Ashworth
  2. Victoria Groulef
  3. Warren Morgan
  4. Eleanor Fuller
  5. Robin Bextor
  6. Nicholas Mazzei
  7. Suzana Carp
  8. Phil Murphy
  9. Heather Allen
  10. Diane Yeo


  1. Daniel Hannan
  2. Nirj Deva
  3. Richard Robinson
  4. Mike Whiting
  5. Juliette Ash
  6. Anna Firth
  7. Adrian Pepper
  8. Clarence Mitchell
  9. Neva Sadikoglu-Novaky
  10. Caroline Newton

Green Party

  1. Alexandra Phillips
  2. Elise Benjamin
  3. Vix Lowthion
  4. Leslie Groves Williams
  5. Phelim Mac Cafferty
  6. Jan Doerfel
  7. Larry Sanders
  8. Isabella Moir
  9. Oliver Sykes
  10. Jonathan Essex


  1. John Howarth
  2. Cathy Shutt
  3. Arran Neathey
  4. Emma Turnbull
  5. Rohit Dasgupta
  6. Amy Fowler
  7. Duncan Enright
  8. Lubna Arshad
  9. Simon Burgess
  10. Rachael Ward

Liberal Democrats

  1. Catherine Bearder
  2. Antony Hook
  3. Judith Bunting
  4. Martin Tod
  5. Liz Leffman
  6. Chris Bowers
  7. Giles Goodall
  8. Ruvi Ziegler
  9. Nick Perry
  10. John Vincent

The Brexit Party

  1. Nigel Farage
  2. Alex Phillips
  3. Robert Rowland
  4. Belinda De Camborne Lucy
  5. James Bartholomew
  6. Christopher Ellis
  7. John Kennedy
  8. Matthew Taylor
  9. George Farmer
  10. Peter Wiltshire

The Socialist Party of Great Britain

  1. Mandy Bruce
  2. Raymond Carr
  3. David Chesham
  4. Robert Cox
  5. Michael Foster
  6. Stephen Harper
  7. Neil Kirk
  8. Anton Pruden
  9. Andrew Thomas-Emans
  10. Darren Williams

UK European Union Party

  1. Pacelli Ndikumana
  2. Clinton Powell


  1. Piers Wauchope
  2. Liz Philips
  3. Daryll Pitcher
  4. Martin Brothers
  5. Tony Gould
  6. Clive Egan
  7. Troy De Leon
  8. Alan Stone
  9. Judy Moore
  10. Patricia Mountain


  • Jason McMaho
  • David Round
  • Michael Jeffrey Turberville

Related posts

Wokingham residents celebrate after Woodcray homes plan rejected again

James Hastings

COLUMN: Sacking Stam now could be too little, too late for Reading FC

Tom Crocker

Wokingham Borough Council’s business support scheme is open for applications

John Wakefield
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x