VOTE 2019: Bulmershe and Whitegates

VOTE  RESULTS Bulmershe LABOUR GAIN px by px

Bulmershe & Whitegates

Polling Stations

  • Earley Home Guard, 22 Pitts Lane, Earley
  • Christ Church Hall (Main), Crockhamwell Road, Woodley

2019 results

2019 Candidates

Shirley Boyt, Labour

Shirley Boyt
Shirley Boyt

I grew up in Woodley and have lived in Whitegates (North Earley) for 27 years. I have two grown up children.

My husband died in 2017. He had suffered with Multiple Sclerosis and I was his main carer for 17 years. During this time I experienced the social care system, the benefits system and almost every department in the NHS.

Dealing with this day in day out, on top of the physical and mental demands of caring and bringing up a family is a constant battle which can only be won with patience, dogged determination and a healthy degree of scepticism for those in authority.

These attributes – patience, determination and scepticism will, I believe, stand me in good stead if you elect me as your councillor.

I have campaigned locally for the restoration of the 19 a/c bus service, greater protection of green spaces, improved access to local facilities for those with disabilities. and fairer funding for schools.

I am also concerned about lack of investment in infrastructure to support the ever increasing population in our area.

Nigel Harman, Liberal Democrat

Nigel Harman
Nigel Harman

Nigel has lived in Woodley for over 20 years and has been actively working with the Lib Dems for most of that time.

Nigel campaigns for issues that matter to residents and fights to make Bulmershe and Whitegates a better, greener, safer place to live and work.

“It’s time we took our responsibility to the environment seriously, we need to increase recycling – in particular introduce the kerbside collection of glass and reduce our reliance on the car.

“It will be a privilege to campaign and speak up for the residents of Bulmershe and Whitegates.

“I want to be a strong voice that makes their views heard at the Council.”

Shahid Younis, Conservatives

Awaiting candidate’s details

2018 result

2016 result

Due to a by-election, two candidates were elected: Andy Croy for Labour and Alison Swaddle for Conservatives

2015 result


Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
Theo HuntCarl Doran Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Theo Hunt

Hi, who is the incumbent, or is there not one?

Carl Doran
Carl Doran

Shahid Younis (Conservative) is the incumbent.

Theo Hunt