Why does Wokingham borough have four MPs (including former Prime Minister Theresa May)?

Parliament Web

Wokingham parliamentary constituency might share its name with Wokingham borough unitary authority and Wokingham town, but all three are completely different. It’s easy to confuse them, but they are all distinct. 

The UK is a funny old place, and no more so than its parliamentary make-up. 

As a result, Wokingham borough – the area that The Wokingham Paper covers – has four MPs. 

Reading East MP Matt Rodda has parts of Woodley and Earley in his constituency. 

The Bracknell constituency includes parts of Finchampstead and Wokingham Without. 

Theresa May, who was Prime Minister until the summer, lives in Sonning, which is part of her Maidenhead constituency. Also part of her patch is Twyford, Charvil, Remenham, Ruscombe and Wargrave, meaning that a large chunk of her constituents actually live in Wokingham. 

And the Wokingham parliamentary seat, which has been held by Sir John Redwood since 1987, covers Arborfield, Barkham, Emmbrook, Evendons, Hawkedon, Hillside, Maiden Erlegh, Norreys, Shinfield North, Shinfield South, Swallowfield, Wescott, and Winnersh, and the District of West Berkshire wards of Burghfield, Mortimer, and Sulhamstead.

With no changes to the constituency planned from 2022, it appears the confusion will continue … 

.. and means that all candidates for Wokingham will have to cover some considerable miles to kiss every baby and shake every hand in the complex battle for voters’ support. 

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of