The Wokingham Paper

Wokingham borough MP wins Parliamentary vote of confidence

Theresa May addresses the House of Commons after defeating a motion of no confidence against her Government

ONE of the borough’s four MPs has won a significant vote in the House of Commons this evening following a vote yesterday over the European Union.

Maidenhead MP Theresa May – whose constituency includes Sonning, Twyford, Remenham and Wargrave – also heads up the UK Government as its Prime Minister. Yesterday, she lost a motion in the House of Commons that would result in the UK leaving the EU, a process known as Brexit.

That led to the leader of the opposition, Jeremy Corbyn, to call a motion of no confidence in her Government.

Theresa May’s Conservatives were backed by supply and confidence partners the DUP and won 325 votes. The opposition had 306, giving her a majority of just 19. Had the DUP voted against her Government she would have lost and it would be likely that the country would be heading to a General Election.

As Mrs May won, she invited opposition leaders to talks to come to an agreement over Brexit. Jeremy Corbyn said he would only do so if a No Deal Brexit was removed, while Ian Blackford, the leader of Scottish party the SNP, said that he hoped she would keep an open mind on a second referendum – commonly known as a people’s vote – and delaying Brexit, which is currently scheduled for March 29.

Related posts

Farley Hill edge Woodley by just 13 runs

Andy Preston

11 bridges to be replaced during M4 Smart motorway works

Phil Creighton

‘There are people with dementia who don’t know how to get help- it’s frightening’

Taz Usher

Leave a Reply

Notify of